- What You Are Actually Studying For
- The Two-Level Structure and What It Means for Planning
- Level I: The Reading Stack
- Level I Appendices: Small Topics, Real Questions
- Level II: The Chart-Analysis Library
- How Level II Is Examined
- Fees, Registration and Dates
- Sequencing the Reading Across Your Months
- Practice Material and Its Limits
- Where the Credential Leads
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CFTe means Certified Financial Technician, awarded by IFTA after passing both Level I and Level II.
- Level I is 120 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours 30 minutes, taken at Pearson VUE centers.
- Level II is a Zoom-proctored, written chart analysis exam, normally offered in April and October.
- The IFTA syllabus, updated May 7, 2026, assigns 23 reading groups: ten for Level I, thirteen for Level II.
What You Are Actually Studying For
The Certified Financial Technician credential is awarded by the International Federation of Technical Analysts (IFTA), and it is built entirely around technical analysis: reading price charts, interpreting indicators, and defending a market view in writing. If you are new to the acronym, our explainers on what CFTe is and what CFTe stands for cover the basics. This guide assumes you have already decided to sit the exams and want a plan that fits how the credential is actually structured.
The most important thing to understand early is that this is a reading-list exam. IFTA publishes a syllabus that assigns specific books, specific chapters, and a handful of required appendices. Your job is to master that assigned material and then learn to apply it under time pressure. There is no official weighted domain taxonomy, so you cannot rank topics by how heavily they are tested. That makes complete coverage of the reading list the safest strategy, which is exactly why the planning below is organized around the readings themselves.
The Two-Level Structure and What It Means for Planning
The ordinary CFTe award requires both Level I and Level II. Passing only Level I does not give you the full credential, so budget your time, money, and attention for two distinct exams that test different skills.
| Feature | Level I | Level II |
|---|---|---|
| Delivery | Pearson VUE test centers, with Strasz Assessment Systems coordination | IFTA-administered Zoom remote examination |
| Format | 120 four-option, single-answer multiple-choice questions | Constructed chart analysis and written report |
| Time | 2 hours 30 minutes | Official April 11, 2024 example: 3 hours 30 minutes |
| Scheduling | Year-round | Normally April and October |
| Core skill tested | Recognition and recall of technical analysis concepts | Applying methods to real charts and communicating a reasoned view |
The shift between levels is large. Level I rewards candidates who can recognize patterns, define indicators, and recall methodology accurately. Level II asks you to look at charts and produce written analysis, which is a different muscle. Many candidates underestimate this and prepare for Level II the same way they prepared for Level I. If you want a realistic sense of the challenge, read how hard the CFTe exam is.
Also note that no ordinary-route degree, experience minimum, references, or training hours are published, and membership in a member society is optional. Our CFTe requirements guide covers eligibility in detail. Suggested study periods you may see elsewhere are guidance, not prerequisites.
Level I: The Reading Stack
Level I draws on six core readings, each of which maps to one of the first six editorial groups below. Work through them as a stack, because the later books assume vocabulary the earlier ones establish.
Groups 1 to 3: The Foundational Trio
These are Technical Analysis of Stock Trends, Technical Analysis of the Financial Markets, and Technical Analysis Explained, each with specified core chapters.
- Expect the classic toolkit: trend definition, support and resistance, chart patterns, volume interpretation, and moving averages.
- Read the specified chapters rather than the whole book; the syllabus tells you exactly which sections count.
- Pay attention to where the three authors define the same concept slightly differently, since a four-option question can hinge on a precise definition.
Group 4: Computer Analysis of the Futures Market
The Technical Traders Guide to Computer Analysis of the Futures Market brings in indicator construction and system-oriented thinking.
- Focus on how oscillators and trend-following indicators are built, not just how they are read.
- Know the stated strengths and weaknesses of each indicator family.
Group 5: Candlestick Charting Techniques
This group covers Japanese candlestick pattern recognition and interpretation.
- Memorize pattern names, structures, and the context in which each is considered meaningful.
- Candlestick questions reward visual familiarity, so practice identifying patterns on actual charts.
Group 6: The Definitive Guide to Point and Figure
Point and figure charting is a distinct method with its own construction rules.
- Understand box size, reversal criteria, and how signals are generated.
- Because this method recurs in Level I appendices and Level II, a solid base here pays off twice.
Level I Appendices: Small Topics, Real Questions
The syllabus lists four required appendices for Level I. They are short compared with the core books, and candidates sometimes skim them. That is a mistake, because required means required.
- Group 7, Elliott Wave Theory (Appendix A): wave counting rules, impulse versus corrective structures, and the guidelines that govern them.
- Group 8, Breadth Indicators (Appendix B): measures of market participation such as advance-decline concepts, and what divergences are meant to signal.
- Group 9, Time Cycles Analysis (Appendix C plus an assigned Murphy reading): cycle concepts and how analysts use periodicity.
- Group 10, Point and Figure Techniques (Appendix D): supplementary point and figure material that complements Group 6.
Level II: The Chart-Analysis Library
Level II has thirteen reading groups, and this is where the volume of material jumps. Several books repeat from Level I but with different specified chapters, so do not assume your Level I notes are sufficient.
Groups 11 to 13: Revisiting the Core
Technical Analysis of Stock Trends (core reading), Technical Analysis Explained, and the Technical Traders Guide to Computer Analysis of the Futures Market all return with Level II-specific chapters.
- Check the syllabus chapter list for each; the assignments are not identical to Level I.
- Read with application in mind: how would this concept appear on a chart you must analyze in writing?
Groups 14 to 17: Methods Beyond the Basics
These include Beyond Candlesticks, The Definitive Guide to Point and Figure (Level II chapters), the Primer on Ichimoku (Appendix E), and Steidlmayer on Markets.
- Ichimoku is a self-contained system with its own components and interpretation rules; learn it as a whole.
- Steidlmayer on Markets introduces market-profile thinking, which differs conceptually from standard bar-chart analysis.
Groups 18 to 21: Wave Theory and Professional Technique
These cover Elliott Wave Principle, Technical Analysis: The Complete Resource for Financial Markets Technicians, Technical Analysis for the Trading Professional, and Street Smarts: High Probability Short Term Strategies.
- Elliott Wave appears at both levels, but Level II demands applied counting on real charts.
- Street Smarts is a core reading focused on short-term setups; understand the logic behind each strategy, not just its rules.
Groups 22 and 23: Ethics and Statistics
The final two groups are the IFTA Ethical and Professional Standards (Appendix F) and Basic Statistics for Quantitative Analysis (Appendix G).
- Ethics material is short but distinctive; read the standards closely and be ready to apply them to scenarios.
- The statistics appendix suits candidates who have avoided quantitative topics; start it early rather than leaving it for the end.
How Level II Is Examined
Level II is a constructed-response exam, taken remotely over Zoom with IFTA administering and proctoring it. Candidates analyze charts and write a report rather than selecting answers. No invariant current question count has been verified. The official April 11, 2024 example paper had seven question groups, a 3 hours 30 minutes limit, and 65/100 passing marks, but those are historical-paper details and should not be treated as a confirmed 2026 live-exam specification. Check IFTA's current materials before your sitting. For score mechanics across levels, see our CFTe passing score guide.
What this means for preparation: you need to practice writing, not just reading. Take a chart, identify trend, patterns, and indicator signals, reach a conclusion, and put it in clear prose within a time limit. Candidates who have only ever answered multiple-choice questions often discover that structuring a coherent written analysis is the hardest part.
Key Takeaway
Start timed written chart analysis well before Level II. Reading the books is necessary but not sufficient; the exam rewards candidates who have already practiced turning a chart into a defended written conclusion.
Fees, Registration and Dates
Fees differ by level and by whether you are a member-society colleague or a non-member.
| Item | Member-society colleague | Non-member |
|---|---|---|
| Level I | US$550 | US$850 |
| Level II base fee | US$850 | US$1,150 |
| Level II proctor fee | US$100 | |
| Level II translation (except English/German) | US$250 | |
| Calculated two-level base plus proctor total | US$1,500 | US$2,100 |
That final total is before any other costs, such as books, retakes, or translation. Our CFTe certification cost breakdown walks through the full pricing picture.
On timing, Level I is available year-round, which gives you flexibility to book when you feel ready. Level II is normally offered in April and October, which means missing a window can cost you months. For October 2026, the official sources conflict: the main page lists October 22 while the FAQ lists October 20, both with a September 10 deadline. Verify your individual confirmation rather than relying on either page. Details are in our CFTe exam dates guide.
Sequencing the Reading Across Your Months
This is the one place we will talk about general study structure, and only because the syllabus gives it a natural shape. IFTA does not prescribe a study duration, and any suggested period you encounter is guidance rather than a rule. The timeline below is an editorial example showing how to order the reading groups, not an official schedule.
Foundations (Groups 1 to 3)
- Read the three foundational books in the order listed; note definitional differences between authors.
- Build a personal glossary of pattern and indicator terms.
Methods (Groups 4 to 6)
- Cover computer analysis, candlesticks, and point and figure.
- Practice candlestick identification on live charts.
Appendices and Level I practice (Groups 7 to 10)
- Work through Elliott Wave, breadth, cycles, and point and figure appendices.
- Take the official Level I mock and any practice material, then sit Level I.
Level II methods (Groups 11 to 17)
- Revisit the repeated books with Level II chapters, then add Beyond Candlesticks, Ichimoku, and Steidlmayer.
- Begin timed written chart analysis.
Level II completion (Groups 18 to 23)
- Finish Elliott Wave Principle, the two professional references, Street Smarts, ethics, and statistics.
- Run full-length timed written reports until the format feels routine.
Notice the logic: foundational vocabulary first, then methods, then appendices, with Level I tested before Level II begins in earnest. Putting statistics and ethics last in Level II is practical, but if quantitative topics worry you, move Appendix G earlier so you are not meeting it for the first time in the final stretch.
Practice Material and Its Limits
Be careful about what practice material can and cannot tell you. The official Level I mock is a 60-item paper dated September 27, 2015. It is useful for getting a feel for question style, but it is much older than your target exam, it is half the length of the real 120-question paper, and the syllabus has since been updated (most recently May 7, 2026). Treat it as a format reference, not a predictor of your score or of current content.
The same caution applies to pass-rate discussion. IFTA's FAQ mentions a general 60 to 70 percent pass rate that varies by year, but it is not a 2026 figure and it is not specific to either level. Our CFTe pass rate analysis explains why you should not anchor on a single number. Likewise, the passing mark for Level I is stated by member societies SAMT and VTAD as 74 out of 120, but scored versus unscored question splits are not disclosed, so confirm current scoring through your own registration materials.
Whether books or calculators are permitted in the exam has not been verified in the reviewed materials, so check the rules in your confirmation before exam day rather than assuming. When you are ready to test yourself on question style, use the CFTe practice tests to drill recall and recognition, and keep a one-page review sheet of the facts you keep missing.
Where the Credential Leads
Technical analysis is applied across trading desks, asset management, brokerage research, and independent advisory work, and a credential grounded in chart analysis signals competence in those areas. Specific roles and pay vary widely, and we avoid quoting figures we cannot verify. For context on career outcomes, see our discussions of CFTe jobs, the CFTe salary guide, and whether the CFTe certification is worth it.
One more practical point: reviewed issuer materials establish no ordinary expiration, renewal-fee, or continuing-education requirement, but you should not read that as a promise of lifetime status, and legacy exemption wording should not be applied universally. Confirm your own status directly with IFTA.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. The ordinary CFTe award requires both Level I and Level II. Level I covers multiple-choice recognition and recall, while Level II is a written chart analysis exam.
Level I has 120 four-option, single-answer multiple-choice questions in 2 hours 30 minutes, delivered at Pearson VUE centers. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.
No official weighted exam-domain taxonomy has been verified, so no largest weight can be stated. The 23 groups in this guide are editorial groupings of required readings, which is why covering the whole syllabus is the safest approach.
Level II is normally offered in April and October. For October 2026, the main page lists October 22 and the FAQ lists October 20, both with a September 10 deadline, so verify the date in your individual confirmation.
Not reliably. It is a 60-item paper dated September 27, 2015, half the length of the real exam and older than the May 7, 2026 syllabus update. Use it for format familiarity only.