- What the Certified Financial Technician Credential Is
- Two Levels, One Award
- What Level I Candidates Actually Read
- What Level II Adds
- Exam Format, Fees and Logistics
- Eligibility and What Is Not Required
- Where the Credential Is Used
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Reading List
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CFTe means Certified Financial Technician, awarded by the International Federation of Technical Analysts (IFTA) after passing both Level I and Level II.
- Level I is 120 four-option multiple-choice questions in 2 hours 30 minutes, delivered at Pearson VUE centers.
- Level II is a Zoom-proctored chart analysis and written report, not a multiple-choice test.
- The syllabus (updated May 7, 2026) groups into 23 reading blocks: ten for Level I, thirteen for Level II.
What the Certified Financial Technician Credential Is
The CFTe is the Certified Financial Technician designation, issued by the International Federation of Technical Analysts. It is a technical analysis credential: the body of knowledge centers on reading price charts, interpreting indicators, understanding market structure and applying pattern and cycle methods to real markets. If you have seen the acronym attached to other certifications, set those aside. This article concerns only the IFTA award.
What distinguishes the credential is that it is built around a defined reading list rather than a vague competency statement. Candidates are examined against specific published works on trend analysis, candlesticks, point and figure charting, Elliott Wave, Ichimoku, market profile concepts and statistics. That makes the CFTe unusually concrete to prepare for: you can open the official syllabus and see exactly which books and chapters you are accountable for. For related definitions, see our explainers on what CFTe is and what CFTe stands for.
Two Levels, One Award
The ordinary CFTe award requires passing both Level I and Level II. Each level uses a different examination format and a different delivery channel, so they feel like two distinct hurdles rather than one exam split in half.
| Feature | Level I | Level II |
|---|---|---|
| Format | 120 four-option, single-answer multiple-choice questions | Constructed chart analysis and written report |
| Duration | 2 hours 30 minutes | Official April 11, 2024 example paper: 3 hours 30 minutes |
| Delivery | Pearson VUE centers, with Strasz Assessment Systems coordination | IFTA-administered Zoom remote examination |
| Availability | Year-round | Normally April and October |
| Fee (member / non-member) | US$550 / US$850 | US$850 / US$1,150, plus US$100 proctor fee |
What Level I Candidates Actually Read
Level I preparation is organized around six core readings plus four required appendices. These are editorial groupings of the mandatory reading assignments, not official exam domains or weights. No official weighted domain taxonomy has been verified, so no one can honestly tell you which area carries the most marks. The full chapter detail sits in the issuer syllabus; our complete guide to all 23 content areas walks through the grouping.
Domains 1-3: The Classic Foundations
Technical Analysis of Stock Trends, Technical Analysis of the Financial Markets, and Technical Analysis Explained form the conceptual backbone.
- Trend definition, support and resistance, and chart pattern recognition
- Core indicators and oscillators and how they confirm or contradict price
- Market structure and the logic behind why patterns are treated as probabilistic signals
Domain 4: Computer Analysis of the Futures Market
The Technical Traders Guide to Computer Analysis of the Futures Market introduces systematic, rule-based analysis.
- How indicators are computed, not just how they are read
- Testing and system-oriented thinking applied to futures data
Domains 5-6: Candlesticks and Point and Figure
Candlestick Charting Techniques and The Definitive Guide to Point and Figure give you two very different charting languages.
- Candlestick patterns, their construction and their context dependence
- Point and figure construction rules, box size, reversal and pattern interpretation
Domains 7-10: The Required Appendices
Four appendices cover Elliott Wave Theory (Appendix A), Breadth Indicators (Appendix B), Time Cycles Analysis (Appendix C, with an assigned Murphy reading) and Point and Figure Techniques (Appendix D).
- Wave counting rules and guidelines at an introductory level
- Market breadth measures that look beneath index-level price action
- Cycle concepts and how they are applied to timing
Note the overlap: point and figure appears in both Domain 6 and Domain 10, and Elliott Wave shows up at both levels. Candidates who learn these methods properly at Level I find Level II noticeably easier.
What Level II Adds
Level II carries thirteen core readings, and the nature of the exam changes what "knowing" a topic means. You are no longer recognizing the right answer from four options; you are producing an analysis from charts and defending it in writing.
- Domain 11, Technical Analysis of Stock Trends: revisited as a core reading, now expected at a deeper applied level.
- Domains 12-13: Technical Analysis Explained and the Computer Analysis of the Futures Market guide return with specified core chapters.
- Domain 14, Beyond Candlesticks: extends candlestick thinking beyond the Level I treatment.
- Domain 15, The Definitive Guide to Point and Figure: further specified chapters beyond Level I.
- Domain 16, Primer on Ichimoku: required Appendix E, covering the Ichimoku system.
- Domain 17, Steidlmayer on Markets: market-profile style thinking about auction behavior and value.
- Domain 18, Elliott Wave Principle: the full wave framework at a more rigorous level than the Level I appendix.
- Domains 19-20: Technical Analysis: The Complete Resource for Financial Markets Technicians, and Technical Analysis for the Trading Professional.
- Domain 21, Street Smarts: High Probability Short Term Strategies: short-term setups and trade logic.
- Domain 22, IFTA Ethical and Professional Standards: required Appendix F.
- Domain 23, Basic Statistics for Quantitative Analysis: required Appendix G.
Exam Format, Fees and Logistics
Level I Mechanics
Level I is the straightforward half. You sit 120 four-option single-answer questions in 2 hours 30 minutes at a Pearson VUE center, available year-round. The scored versus unscored split is not disclosed. The member societies SAMT and VTAD state 74/120 as the pass mark, but treat that as a society-published figure rather than a universal IFTA statement; see our breakdown of the CFTe passing score for the nuance. The official Level I mock is a 60-item paper dated September 27, 2015, so it is useful for format familiarity but is not a guide to current question style or difficulty. Whether books or calculators are permitted has not been verified, so check your confirmation instructions.
Level II Mechanics
Level II is administered by IFTA over Zoom, normally in April and October. The October 2026 date is inconsistent in official materials: the main page gives October 22 and the FAQ gives October 20, both with a September 10 deadline. Verify the date in your individual confirmation rather than relying on either page. Our exam dates and scheduling guide covers the timing in more detail.
Fee Structure
| Cost Item | Member Societies | Non-Members |
|---|---|---|
| Level I | US$550 | US$850 |
| Level II | US$850 | US$1,150 |
| Level II proctor fee | US$100 | US$100 |
| Level II translation (other than English/German) | US$250 | US$250 |
| Two-level base plus proctor total | US$1,500 | US$2,100 |
The two-level totals are calculated figures before other costs such as books, retakes or translation. The full CFTe cost breakdown expands on what to budget beyond these headline numbers.
Eligibility and What Is Not Required
For the ordinary route, no mandatory degree, experience minimum, references or training hours are published. Membership in an IFTA member society is optional; it simply gives you the lower fee tier. Suggested study periods you may see mentioned are guidance, not prerequisites. For the formal picture, read our CFTe requirements guide.
Two further points deserve care. First, the IFTA FAQ cites a general 60-70% pass rate, but that figure varies by year and is not a 2026 or level-specific cohort rate, so do not treat it as a prediction of your odds; the pass rate analysis explains how to read it. Second, no ordinary expiration, renewal fee or continuing-education requirement was established in the reviewed issuer materials. That is not the same as saying the credential is lifetime, and legacy exemption wording should not be applied universally. Check the current terms with IFTA directly.
Where the Credential Is Used
The CFTe sits in the technical analysis corner of finance. It is most relevant to roles where chart-based reasoning is part of the daily work: technical analyst and market strategist positions, trading desks, research functions at brokers and asset managers, and independent analysts and educators. Because the examination rewards the ability to produce a structured written technical view, it translates well to research-note and client-communication settings.
Be realistic about what the credential does and does not promise. It demonstrates a verified, syllabus-based command of technical analysis; it does not guarantee a position, and hiring depends heavily on the employer's approach to technical versus fundamental analysis. If you are weighing it against alternatives, our ROI analysis, salary guide and overview of CFTe jobs go deeper on career outcomes without overpromising.
Key Takeaway
Choose the CFTe if technical analysis is central to the work you want to do. Its reading list is specific, so the credential signals depth in charting methods rather than broad financial knowledge.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Reading List
Because the syllabus is a defined set of books, the most useful planning decision is order, not technique. The sequence below assumes you are attempting Level I first, since that is the natural path to the full award. Adjust the pace to your schedule; the timeline is illustrative, not a prescribed duration.
Build the Common Language
- Read the Domain 1-3 foundations first: trends, support and resistance, core indicators
- Everything else assumes this vocabulary, so do not rush it
Add the Charting Systems
- Candlesticks (Domain 5) and point and figure (Domains 6 and 10) together, since they are both construction-rule methods
- Futures computer analysis (Domain 4) alongside, to understand how indicators are calculated
Cover the Appendices and Test
- Elliott Wave, breadth, and cycles (Domains 7-9)
- Use the official 60-item mock for format familiarity, then practice with fresh questions on our CFTe practice test site
Shift to Applied Writing for Level II
- Re-read Domains 11-21 with a chart in front of you, practicing structured written analysis
- Reserve time for ethics (Domain 22) and statistics (Domain 23)
Level I rewards recognition and recall; Level II rewards synthesis. That is why the same book, such as Technical Analysis Explained, appears at both levels but demands different engagement. For a fuller week-by-week plan see the CFTe study guide, and for a quick fact refresher before test day use the one-page cheat sheet. If you are wondering how demanding all this is in practice, the difficulty guide gives a candid view.
When you are ready to test recall under realistic conditions, our practice questions are designed around the same reading groups described above. Allocations of practice questions across those groups are editorial rather than official weightings.
Frequently Asked Questions
CFTe stands for Certified Financial Technician, a technical analysis credential awarded by the International Federation of Technical Analysts. The ordinary award requires passing both Level I and Level II.
For the ordinary route, no mandatory degree, experience minimum, references or training hours are published. Membership in a member society is optional and mainly affects which fee tier you pay.
Level I has 120 four-option single-answer multiple-choice questions in 2 hours 30 minutes, taken at Pearson VUE centers. The split between scored and unscored items is not disclosed.
No. Level II is an IFTA-administered Zoom remote examination built around constructed chart analysis and a written report. The 2024 official example paper had seven question groups and 3 hours 30 minutes, but confirm the current format with IFTA.
No ordinary expiration, renewal fee or continuing-education requirement was established in the reviewed issuer materials. That does not confirm lifetime status, so verify current terms directly with IFTA before relying on either assumption.